Bihar assembly polls: JD(U), BJP reach 122-121 seat-sharing deal | India News


NEW DELHI: Ahead of the Bihar assembly polls, the JD(U) and the BJP on Tuesday reached the 122-121 seat sharing deal while the allies will be accommodated from their quotas.
Announcing the seat share arrangement, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar said that the JD(U) has been allotted 122 seats.
“Under that quota, we are giving 7 seats to HAM. BJP has 121 seats. Talks are underway, BJP will allot seats to Vikassheel Insaan Party under their quota,” he added.
The BJP’s central election committee had met on Sunday to deliberate over the Bihar assembly polls and finalise the party’s candidates, as the ruling National Democratic Alliance suffered a setback with Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan‘s Lok Janshakti Party deciding to walk out of the NDA in the state.
The BJP has declared JD(U) president and chief minister Nitish Kumar as the leader of the alliance for the three-phase polls.
While lauding the BJP, the LJP has said it will not contest the elections under Kumar’s leadership.
The Bihar assembly polls will be held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7, and the counting of votes will take place on November 10.
The nomination process for the first phase, under which 71 of the total 243 seats will go to polls, began from October 1 and will end on October 8.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)