FIDE announces team list for online Nations Cup | Chess News

CHENNAI: The team compositions for FIDE’s upcoming big-ticket event – the Online Nations Cup – to be held from May 5 to 10 were announced on Thursday.

The Rest of the World team will have current FIDE president Arkady Dvorkovich captaining it. FIDE’s event will have six teams – China, Europe, India, Russia, USA and a side representing the ‘Rest of the World’ – vying for top honours.

The first stage of the event will see the teams playing double round-robin clashes from May 5 to 9. Teams finishing in the top-two will then play the final on May 10.

All games will be played in a rapid format. Each player begins the game with 25 minutes on their clock, plus 10 seconds of extra time added after each move.

However, world champion Magnus Carlsen, the biggest name in the world chess, will skip the event.

The Norwegian, who is currently featuring at the Carlsen Invitational, will remain busy till May 3 – the concluding day of his event. “It was his choice to not be part of the event but we had sent him an invite from our end,” a senior FIDE official said.


Team China: Ye Jiangchuan, Ding Liren, Wang Hao, Wei Yi, Hou Yifan. Reserve players: Yu Yangyi and Ju Wenjun
Team Europe: Garry Kasparov; Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Levon Aronian, Anish Giri, Anna Muzychuk. Reserve players: Jan-Krzysztof Duda and Nana Dzagnidze
Team India: Viswanathan Anand, P Harikrishna, Vidit Gujrathi, K Humpy. Reserve players: B Adhiban and D Harika
Team Russia: Ian Nepomniachtchi, Vladislav Artemiev, Sergey Karjakin, Aleksandra Goryachkina. Reserve players: Dmitry Andreikin and Olga GiryaTeam USA: Fabiano Caruana, Hikaru Nakamura, Wesley So, Irina Krush. Reserve players: Leinier Perez and Anna Zatonskih
Rest of the World: Arkady Dvorkovich; Teimour Radjabov, Alireza Firouzja, Bassem Amin, Mariya Muzychuk. Reserve players: Jorge Cori and Dinara Saduakassova.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)